The Great Purge of 2015

Have you ever had one of those days where you wake up and just can’t handle the “stuff” any longer? Well I did. Yesterday.

It was ugly. Or I was ugly. I turn into some sort of Jekyll and Hyde creature when I get my mind set on something. Much to The Carnivore’s chagrin, I began chunking stuff the minute I woke up. Poor guy never had a chance to finish his coffee…

And when I turn into this monster, I don’t take pictures. I don’t want anything standing in my way…phone calls, cameras, hugs, or conversation. I told you – I turn into a barbarian.

It started with a pile of magazines. I had entirely too many piled up in a corner of my room that I was saving for workouts, recipes, etc. Yeah right, I’m never going to get to them. So into the recycling bin they went.

Then I moved to under the bathroom sink. If there’s an apocalypse I am fully prepared with travel sized bottles of shampoo, conditioner, lotions, and body soap. I felt a little guilty giving these the heave-ho. I remember my great-grandma, Jewell, would throw her soap remnants in a bucket under her sink. She said they had to do that during the depression, so she continued to do it through her adult life… Sorry, grandma.

Next up…closet. I used to work in a corporate job and dressed up everyday. Let’s be honest, I never want to work at a place that I have to wear heels everyday again…or real pants for that matter. All my business casual clothes went to the Goodwill pile.

After the closet purge, I decided I needed to settle down. I don’t think this was the Saturday my poor husband had in mind… so I laced up my shoes and braved the cold weather for a quick 4 miles. Nothing like 4 miles worth of therapy to settle the crazy.

IMG_6538I’ve had several people on Instagram and Facebook ask me about my shirt. I got mine as a gift last Christmas, but you can find them here! Your lungs will thank you.

After a run, several hours of yoga homework (I go back to teacher training this week!), and a long hot shower, I’m back to normal. My name is Cassie – I love hugs, cuddles and sharing ice-cream.

When doing yoga homework, you must do it in side crow.

When doing yoga homework, you must do it in side crow.


Like what you see? Click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

