How to Navigate a Holiday Party

The holidays can be a nutritional minefield between Christmas parties, family meals, long days of traveling, and Braum’s Egg Nog Ice-Cream. Dang you, Braum’s!

FullSizeRender

This is dangerous stuff, people!

…but I’m strangely ok with that. The holidays are meant to be a time for celebration, family gatherings, and Christmas goodies.

When I know I’m going to a party or family gathering, I do have a few cardinal rules that I live by so I can make sure I’m giving my body what it needs before I indulge.

Rule #1 – Always start with a good breakfast. I’m back on my green smoothie kick! Especially right now, I find it so important to start my day with a blender full of greens. It keeps me feeling good all morning long, and I get my entire days worth of fruits and veggies before I ever even head out the door. Except this morning, I had to try out my new Breakfast Criminal heart bowl: Blueberry-Banana Oatmeal with chia seeds and a dollop of almond butter.

IMG_6186Rule #2 – Drink LOTS of water! You will never catch me without a water bottle. It’s so important to stay hydrated and to continuously flush your body. The Carnivore refers to me as Bo from the movie Signs, except all of my water cups are empty. We’re out of luck if we get invaded by aliens.

d68283fc8c094664b608fd7c6fb361ae

“There’s a monster outside my room, can I have a glass of water?”

Rule #3 – Don’t go to a party starving. If I make the mistake of showing up hangry (so hungry I’m angry), all rules are out the window – this girl’s gotta eat! If I’m hungry before I ever leave the house, I’ll make a snack of avocado toast, veggies and hummus, a banana and almond butter, or a green smoothie.  It’s so much easier to make good-for-you decisions when you’re not ravenous.

Avocado toast is even better with an egg on top!

Avocado toast is even better with an egg on top!

Rule #4 – When at a party, I try to fill at least 3/4 of my plate with veggies and protein. I then fill the rest with whatever goodness I’m dying to try. This doesn’t included dessert. That’s a small plate of it’s own.  🙂

I’ve been baking a lot lately… pecan sticky buns straight from the oven.

IMG_6211I hope the rules I use help you navigate your next holiday potluck.  It’s all about balance.


Like what you see? Click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

