Eating Well and Eating Out

I try not to eat out much. Generally I pack my lunch everyday and make dinner every evening. This time of year though, my evenings consist of holiday parties or Christmas shopping and my weekends are full of social engagements and traveling – which leaves me with thiiiis (I’m holding my fingers really close together) much time to meal prep.

To keep things semi-normal, I usually have a few snacks in the car: nuts, homemade trail mix, Quest bars, apples, bananas, or I’ll pack a green smoothie for the road. In Norman or Oklahoma City I’ll stop for a salad at Coolgreens or Whole Foods, but when I’m out of town, there are a few chain restaurants I feel pretty confident going to.

1.  Starbucks: Try their Classic Oatmeal or Spinach-Feta Wrap. I love that all of the oatmeal toppings come on the side. You can adjust how much sugar, dried fruit, or nuts you put on your oats. The Spinach Feta wrap is my favorite. Egg whites, spinach, sun dried tomatoes and feta – I get this more often for lunch than breakfast!

judy3.jpg-20110723

Photo from Starbucks

2.  Panera: I know what you’re thinking… Broccoli Cheese soup in a bread bowl with a baguette on the side. No. Hear me out. Panera has a new Power menu that I can’t get enough of. For breakfast I get their Power Egg White Bowl with roasted turkey, spinach, roasted red peppers, and pesto. Lunch or dinner I love their Power Chicken Hummus Bowl. It’s also my go-to for Chicken Noodle or Black Bean Soup!

IMG_6203

3. Chipotle: I can’t say enough good things about this place. Of course you can get a 1,500 calorie burrito, but they also make it really easy to eat well on the road. Try a burrito bowl or salad. Substitute guacamole for sour cream and cheese, you might be surprised that you don’t even miss the dairy with the added guacamole! You can do a completely vegan/gluten free burrito bowl with brown rice, black beans, fajita veggies, salsa, corn, romaine lettuce and guacamole. My current favorite is their salad! A bed of romaine with black beans, chicken, fajita veggies, salsa, corn and guacamole. No dressing – the salsa and guac provide more than enough!

Photo from Chipotle.

Photo from Chipotle.

No matter where you go, or what you choose, one thing you can count on in restaurant food is an abundance of sodium. So drink lots of water!

These are my go-to stops and my go-to orders. I hope they help as you travel this holiday season.


Like what you see? Click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

One thought on “Eating Well and Eating Out

Leave a Reply

