Caramel Apple Cupcakes

I posted this picture on Instagram a few weeks ago. A Caramel Apple Cake that I made for my grandpa’s birthday.

Final result.

If you peel back the fondant, this is the little slice of heaven you would see… YUM!

IMG_5398

I made this cake from scratch. Here is the original recipe I used from Pinterest, but I added my own frosting.

One of my favorite things to do is take a made from scratch cake and see if I can recreate it with a boxed cake mix. Boxed mixes are so much easier – you can dump everything into one bowl, can’t over mix it, and the bake time isn’t nearly as long. If you’re really creative, you won’t even know it came from a box.

I recently made cupcakes for a friend’s going away reception and thought it would be the perfect time to test out my boxed caramel apple cake. My focus group (unknowingly) decided this cake was delicious!

Caramel Apple Cupcakes (PRINT ME!)

DSC_9546

Ingredients:

  • 1 box spice cake mix
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup salted caramel
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 Tbsp. vanilla
  • 1 small apple (cored and diced)

To make things really simple, I used a boxed mix and pre-made salted caramel. It doesn’t get any easier.

DSC_9459

Preheat your oven to 350º. Line (2) 12-cup muffin tins with liners.

Add all of your ingredients (except the apple!) to a large mixing bowl. Mix until thoroughly combined, about 2 minutes. Fold in your diced apple.

Fill your liners about 2/3 full with batter. Use an ice cream scoop to make it easy!

IMG_5702

Bake for 15-17 minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean.

I cannot take credit for this delicious caramel frosting. It’s a recipe from Anne Byrn, and it’s so simple. There’s no melting granulated sugar, and absolutely no candy thermometer required – perfect.

Quick Caramel Frosting

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 2 cups powdered sugar (sifted)

In a medium saucepan, add butter and brown sugars. Allow butter to melt and stir frequently. When the butter/sugar mixture comes to a boil (about 2-3 minutes), add milk. Bring the mixture back to a boil and remove from heat. Add vanilla and powdered sugar to the saucepan and whisk until smooth.

If you’re frosting a cake, use the icing warm. If using for cupcakes (like me), let the frosting cool slightly so it doesn’t completely run off your cakes.

DSC_9559

My husband is a smart guy. He’s book smart, but I’ve definitely got the street smarts in this relationship. However, when it comes to dessert – he’s a genius.

I baked some of the batter in ramekins to make small, individual sized cakes. I’m pretty sure I just described a cupcake, but stay with me here…

My dessert loving husband topped them with vanilla ice-cream and drizzled them with leftover caramel.

DSC_9488

See? Genius.


Like what you see? Click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

