BBQ Elk Burgers and Onion Potatoes

I am slowly making my way through our freezer full of meat. It’s going to take me a year (or more!) to work through it all. My hunter is so proud of himself for filling our freezer. Between the hunt, his gear, and the mount, I think it’s the most expensive meat we’ve ever purchased. I won’t tell him that though… 😉

BBQ Elk Burger

Learning to cook with elk has definitely been an experience. Because it’s so lean, it cooks ultra fast. After a few meals of tough meat, I’m slowly getting the hang of it. We’ve made steaks, meatballs, burgers, tacos, chili, and meat sauce for pasta.

Most things (the flavor anyway) have turned out fantastic! My plan is as I perfect our recipes, share them as they’re ready. I know there are a lot of ladies in my situation currently. Maybe not with elk, but deer season is in full force.

I have made and re-made these burgers three times now. I think I’ve finally got it down. OH. MY. GOSH. this burger is goooood! If you don’t have elk or venison, or wild game isn’t your thing, substitute with beef!

I had read a lot about cooking with elk before my fist experiment with the burger. Some people use binding agents (eggs & bread crumbs) or add fat to their meat. I tried both of these things, and my absolute favorite was no “fillers” at all!

BBQ Elk Burger

BBQ Elk Burger (PRINT ME!)

  • 1lb. ground elk
  • 1 Tbsp. Worcestershire
  • 2 Tbsp. BBQ sauce
  • 1/2 package onion soup mix
  • Salt & Pepper

In a large bowl add 1 lb. ground elk, Worcestershire, BBQ sauce, onion soup mix, and salt and pepper. Take off your jewelry and use your hands to work the mixture together.

Divide your mixture into ¼’s and form into patties. Make sure to use your thumb to make an indention in the center of the patty. This will keep your patties from shrinking to the size of a silver dollar.  There’s nothing worse than a pygmy patty in the middle of giant bun!

Pull out your skillet (I used cast iron), and turn up the heat to medium. Add a drizzle of olive oil to your pan to keep your meat from sticking.

IMG_5694

Once the oil is hot, place your patties in the skillet. Cook your burgers for 3-4 minutes on each side, making sure to not mess with them too much. I’m going to have dreams about the BBQ caramelization happening here. Yum!

IMG_5698If you’re curious about cooking temperatures, I found this handy elk meat cheat sheet. We like to have a slight pink center, so I cooked to 140º.

ELK MEAT INFORMATION – Chef’s SHEET

Temperature Guide
Rare 130-135 degrees F
Medium-rare 135-140 degrees F
Medium 140-145 degrees F

Top with a slice of cheddar cheese and additional BBQ sauce. If veggies are your thing, add lettuce, tomato, and onion.

BBQ Elk Burger

Since no one likes a half opened package of onion soup mix hanging out in your pantry, I used the remainder on potatoes.

Onion Potatoes

  • 1 – 1½ lb. small potatoes (I used a mix of baby potatoes)
  • 2-3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 package onion soup mix
  • salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400°.

Here are the baby potatoes I started with. The purple ones are my favorite.

Here are the baby potatoes I used. The purple ones are my favorite.

Cut your potatoes in half (or quarters if they’re large), you want all your potatoes roughly the same size. In a large bowl combine potatoes, olive oil, onion soup mix, salt & pepper.

Spread your potatoes on a baking sheet and bake for 30-35 minutes or until potatoes are tender. Half way through the cooking process, flip your potatoes so they get nice and brown on all sides. Serve alongside the BBQ Elk Burger.

DSC_9504

Your hunter will thank you.


Like what you see? Click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

 

 

2 thoughts on “BBQ Elk Burgers and Onion Potatoes

Leave a Reply

