Annual Family Pumpkin Carving

It’s late on Sunday. I’m tired. And I’ve got lots to share. They say a picture is worth a thousand words, so I’m thinking 1 sentence per picture should suffice, right? Or maybe 2? We’ll see how I feel.

To set the scene: My family gets together for a pumpkin carving every year – it’s my favorite family tradition! This year also happened to coincide with my grandpa’s birthday. Perfect timing!

I was in charge of bringing caramel apples…

DSC_9455 DSC_9456

And Grandpa’s cake; which also happened to be caramel apple… YUM!

DSC_9498

I nagged at my poor husband all the way up the Turner Turnpike to take me by the new West Elm store at Utica Square. We got to Tulsa with 45 minutes to spare, so in order to shut me up he conceded. 😉

IMG_5482

Let’s talk about the fact that I’m wearing shorts in late October. What?!?!?

IMG_5479

I didn’t actually carve a pumpkin this year. I just used them as a yoga prop – until I was scolded by my 8 year old cousin for scuffing the bottom of a pumpkin! It’s really humbling to get in trouble by a 2nd grader.

IMG_5432Thankfully my husband is just as much of a fun-hater as I am, so he didn’t make me carve one this year. Others weren’t so lucky…

FullSizeRender

IMG_5449

I think my uncle was more excited than the little ones about pumpkin carving. He came prepared! Those poor pumpkins never stood a chance.

Screen Shot 2014-10-26 at 9.46.36 PM

Then it was time to celebrate the coolest 76 year old you’ll ever meet!

You should have heard me have a minor freak-out in front of the family over these candles – definitely not my proudest moment.

DSC_9527

We all chipped in and put together 76 reasons why we think our grandpa is totally boss. Some of my favorites included:

  1. I love you because you’re nice, a cowboy, and a good farmer. – my 6 year old cousin, Isaac
  2. You taught me that dogs, not diamonds, are actually a girl’s best friend. – my sister, Whitney
  3. Before I even knew Whitney, you taught me everything I needed to know about her in just one sentence – “It’ll take a special man to marry Whitney.” – my husband, Chase.

He loved listening to us read them all to him. There were some doozies.

Charlie even got in on the birthday action. Somehow he always ends up in the middle of all family gatherings. Strangest dog you’ll ever meet.

IMG_5484

We woke up in Chelsea, got some calf kisses, and hit the road.

IMG_5474

Another pumpkin carving in the books!

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

