Workout on the Go!

A couple of weekends ago, my sister and I were in Chelsea visiting the farm. We hung out with Dad & Susan, took Charlie on a long walk, and went to bed ridiculously early. Pretty perfect Saturday night.

Hungry baby!

I love that nose.

IMG_5231

Just checking things out.

Sunday morning, after caffeine, I was ready for my morning workout! Shortly after I started, my sister groggily stumbled out of her bedroom and said, “Who is telling you to do jumping lunges?!” After I explained the app I was using she said, “Why have you never blogged about this?!” Good question, Whit. I’ve been keeping this very useful tool all to myself for far too long…

I found the blog 12 Minute Athlete several months ago. Krista believes “short but intense workouts are all it takes to get fitter than you ever thought possible.” Perfect when you’re traveling or can’t make it to a gym.

12 minute athleteI downloaded her iPhone app the same day I found her blog. It has SAVED me when I’m traveling, out of my element, or have too much going on in my head to figure out my own workout. The app is so easy to use, and it takes all the thinking out of working out. As long as you can follow directions, you’re good to go.

First - select your workout. First – select your workout. 12 minutes. That’s all you need. The challenge workouts are generally how fast can you complete a series of exercises. The challenge workout I really hate is 100 burpees! But what’s even worse is I keep going back to it to try to beat my time! Well played, Krista. Well played.

IMG_5226

Next – Choose your equipment. 9 times out of 10 when I use this app, the only equipment I have is me! I think I’ve selected jump rope once, but the bodyweight exercises alone will have me sweating buckets.

IMG_5227Finally – Pick your workout. If you’re not satisfied with the one it selects for you, just hit “tap for a new workout” and it will give you another option. I try my best to go with the one it gives me. It forces me to do things I don’t like to do, like tuck jumps!

If you’re unsure about an exercise (i.e. burpees). Tap “burpees” and it will show you how to perform the exercise. See? Simple.

IMG_5232
Alright, you’re this far, you might as well press “GO!”

Krista gives you 10 seconds to get ready, and some encouraging reminders to put your game face on. BRING IT!

IMG_5234
The app keeps time for you, tells you when it’s time to work and when it’s time to rest. It announces what exercise is next, so you don’t have to keep checking your phone. Turn your volume up, and get to sweatin’!

The app is only $2.99, and I have completely got my money’s worth on this one. There are 1,440 minutes in a day, take just 12 of them to do something good for your health. 12 minutes, that’s nothing! I sometimes spend 12 minutes in a Starbucks line.

Search “12 Minute Athlete” in the App Store, and you’ll find it. Hope you enjoy it as much as I do!

Burpee

Doing my burpees.

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

