The Canebrake Getaway

The Carnivore is home! I know I’ve been posting things about his upcoming elk hunt, but the truth is… he’s been gone for the last 8 days. I kept it off the blogsphere because, well, there are a lot of creeps out there. I’m so happy he’s home! And even happier he came home successful! If anyone is in the market for some all natural, free-range, organic, grass-fed elk meat – I’m your girl. 😉

When my husband scheduled his elk hunt, I scheduled a little getaway for myself. The Canebrake is a small resort in Wagoner, OK, located right on Ft. Gibson Lake. The rooms make you feel like you’re staying in a tree house; it has an incredible restaurant, spa, and a yoga barn. It couldn’t be more perfect for me.

Photo from The Canebrake website.

Photo from The Canebrake website.

I’ve been to The Canebrake on multiple occasions for dinner. When we are celebrating a birthday in my family, 96% of the time my dad will say “Wanna go to The Canebrake?” So I knew going into this the food was spectacular. However, I had never stayed there. It was a no-brainer when I was trying to find a little weekend getaway while the hunter was away.

I arrived Friday afternoon as soon as I could check-in. They brought me to my room by golf cart as they don’t allow cars back where the retreat rooms/cabins are located, they want to preserve the peace and quiet.

IMG_5062

I immediately crashed for 2.5 hours. I don’t sleep well while the mister is away. I go to bed way too late, wake up way too early, and I’ll be up 3-4x throughout the night – I was running on fumes.

My sister met me as soon as she got off work.

IMG_5063

Cutie.

With Charlie…

IMG_5104

He’s not too bad either.

Thankfully The Canebrake is pet friendly! We immediately made our way to the restaurant for our dinner reservation. Their menu changes seasonally, and I can honestly say I’ve never had a bad meal there. I’m on a relentless hash and eggs kick, so when I saw it on the menu, I knew I had to have it.

Hash and perfectly poached eggs.

Hash and perfectly poached eggs.

Whitney had their pork chop with paprika-chili butter. Both dishes were delicious.

IMG_5067

We spent 3 hours chatting at the restaurant catching up on life. It’s so nice to spend some one-on-one time with my sister. By 9:30 p.m. we were in bed, lights out – party animals.

Charlie woke me up with the sun – head laying on my bed, nuzzling my hand, ready to go outside. I drug myself out of bed, threw on a hoodie (it was 46 degrees!), and grabbed his leash.

IMG_5068

It was totally worth it. We watched the sun rise over a field covered in deer. A beautiful fall morning.

I knew when I booked my weekend I wanted to experience EVERYTHING The Canebrake offered – food, yoga, and spa. So I kicked off my Saturday with a 75 minute yoga class in their yoga barn. I was completely blown away by the space – HUGE room and a cork floor with radiant heat beneath. Such a perfect way to start my weekend.

IMG_5085Charlie and I doing our best downdogs…

IMG_5106I went nearly straight from yoga to my 60 minute deep tissue massage – one of the best massages I’ve ever received. 

I left The Canebrake Saturday afternoon – relaxed, well rested, and ready to tackle my week. It’s an easy drive from Norman, took me almost 3 hours – perfect for a weekend getaway. I can’t wait to go back with the mister!

Alright, if I don’t share a picture of his elk he’ll shun me forever.

DSCN0087

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

3 thoughts on “The Canebrake Getaway

  1. Hey there! I’ve been reading your web site forr some time now and finally gott tthe bravery
    to go ahead andd give you a shkut out from Dallas Tx! Just wanted to
    tell you keep up the excellent work!

Leave a Reply

