Mini Apple Crisp

Last week my CSA basket was full of apples, pears, and an interesting combination of the two – appears, peapples, pearples? I like pearples. IMG_4946That’s a lot of fruit for one girl to eat. I made another batch of apple muffins, sautéed a few for my morning oatmeal, and then decided to make a version of an apple crisp. This version uses maple syrup instead of sugar and rolled oats play a big role in the “crust.” I wasn’t joking about the cross between an apple and a pear. IMG_4949 My basket contained a few of these and I decided they would make a wonderful substitution to this recipe. I used these pearples, but if you don’t have any pearples laying around, use firm apples. I pulled this original recipe from a Shape magazine a few years ago. I’ve since made a few changes, but it remains one of my favorite figure-friendly fall desserts. Mini Apple Crisp (PRINT ME!) IMG_4959 Apple Filling

  • 2 firm apples, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 2 Tbsp maple syrup
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla

Crumble

  • 1/2 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • pinch of salt
  • 1/3 cup maple syrup
  • 2 Tbsp cold, unsalted butter cut into small pieces

Directions Preheat oven to 350. Lightly coat a 12-cup mini muffin pan with cooking spray. To make crumble: Combine oats, flour, cinnamon, and salt in bowl. Stir in maple syrup until coated. Use a fork to mash the butter pieces into the oat mixture until crumbly. Set aside. To make filling: Add diced apples, maple syrup, vanilla, and 1/2 cup water to small saucepan. Cook over medium heat for about 5 minutes, or until apples are tender. Remove from heat. Place 1 tsp of oat mixture into the bottom of each muffin cup, press down lightly with your fingers to create a crust. Add 1 Tbsp of apple filling over each crust and top with the remaining crumble, distributing evenly.

IMG_4950

Ready for the oven.

Bake 10-15 minutes until golden brown. Let cool, then remove with off-set spatula or butter knife. Serve slightly warm. photo-16We ate these as a dessert, for breakfast, as a snack, and everything in between. I am so happy fall has arrived, I can’t hardly stand it! I might even say it’s my favorite season, but don’t hold me to that – I’m a mind changer. These mini apple crisps are the perfect way to ring in cooler temperatures, turning leaves, football, and candy corn. Enjoy!

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

2 thoughts on “Mini Apple Crisp

Leave a Reply

