Green Tomato Salsa

Am I the only one swimming in green tomatoes right now?! I’ve been receiving them in my CSA basket for weeks. SO. MANY. TOMATOES.

green-tomato

Of course I could’ve fried them, growing up in Oklahoma this is the only way I’ve ever eaten them, but I was trying to make my way through a serious amount of tomatoes in a short period of time. I decided I would try my hand at a salsa. I make salsa all the time, but salsa with green tomatoes? Foreign territory. Since green tomatoes look like large tomatillos (this is serious science people); I pretended they were tomatillos and made a salsa verde. This is usually how my brain works in the kitchen. Sometimes it works, sometimes we have to order take-out…

Crossing my fingers it would work, I threw together green tomatoes, onion, jalapeño, lime and cilantro. The result was fantastic!

photo 2

A fresh, citrusy (is that a word?) salsa that I can’t stay away from. I’ve been dipping blue corn chips, carrot sticks, using it as a salad dressing, spreading it on top of chicken breasts, using it on my morning eggs…I’ll dip just about anything in it.

Green Tomato Salsa

  • 3 green tomatoes
  • 1 red tomato
  • 1 med. onion
  • 2 jalapenos
  • 1/4 cup lime juice
  • 1/4 tsp. garlic salt
  • Salt/pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro

Place tomatoes and jalapenos in a pot, and cover with water. Bring to a boil, and cook until the tomatoes and jalapenos turn light green, about 15 minutes. Drain well, and place in a blender with the onion, lime juice, garlic salt, salt, pepper, and cilantro. Puree to desired consistency and chill.

photo 1Enjoy!

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

