A Weekend of Rejuvenation

Sometimes I need a weekend to myself. I get so caught up in day-to-day tasks – work projects, laundry, kitchen re-model, etc. that sometimes I forget to step back and just breathe.

This last weekend I attended the I AM Yoga Festival in Tulsa, OK all by myself.

IMG_4907

Photo from I AM.

It was exactly what I needed. Even before I left Saturday morning, I was kicking myself for not staying in Norman to work on the kitchen backsplash. I kept coming up with all sorts of reasons why I shouldn’t go.

I arrived in Tulsa a little before 10 a.m. to attend my first class. It was 50 degrees and misty – not exactly the best conditions to practice yoga. Did I mention this was an outdoor festival? I practiced in Uggs for my first two classes of the day. I’ll admit, if I hadn’t already paid for the weekend I would’ve left right then and there. It was miserably cold.

By my third class the sun began to peak out, it warmed up to the mid-60s, and I kicked off my boots!

Boots off!

Boots off!

It was one of the best classes I’ve ever taken. After that class any guilt I felt for leaving or not working on my to-do list completely disappeared.

It turned out to be a BEAUTIFUL day!

It turned out to be a BEAUTIFUL day!

I had to stop and take a picture of these two. They were too cute to pass up. Practicing their Navasana (boat pose).IMG_4876

I spent my Saturday in 6 yoga classes all taught by different instructors. My day began with a 10 a.m. class and the last class wrapped up at 11 p.m. under the stars.

Jacob Fred Jazz Odessy performing during one of the classes.

Jacob Fred Jazz Odyssey performing during one of the classes.

My last class of the day was with Cameron Shayne, the founder of Budokon Yoga.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 12.38.13 PM

Budokon is a cross between yoga and martial arts. I’m convinced Cameron is a ninja… or Tarzan, because no ordinary person can do what he does. He’s pretty incredible to watch.

Screen Shot 2014-09-16 at 12.40.42 PM

Budokon was completely different than any other form of yoga I’ve ever done. It was so much fun and SO HARD. My core is still talking to me 3 days later.

This weekend was exactly what I needed. To be able to step away from the routine tasks I get so wrapped up in, and take some time for myself makes me a much better wife (ask my husband) and teacher. I come back renewed, rejuvenated, inspired, and ready to tackle whatever comes my way.

Maybe yoga isn’t your thing – find something you enjoy and unapologetically carve out some time just for you. I’ve found that those days/weeks when I feel like I don’t have time for yoga are the days I need it most.

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

5 thoughts on “A Weekend of Rejuvenation

Leave a Reply

