Next Level does Dallas Mania

This last weekend I had the opportunity to travel to Dallas with some of my favorite gals for Dallas Mania! Dallas Mania is a fitness conference bringing in some of the top instructors in the biz from all around the country. I went with the crew from Next Level Fitness Studio and IT. WAS. A. BLAST!

Next Level CrewOh… and did I mention Jillian Michaels was the keynote speaker and one of the instructors? No? I’ll get there.

IMG_4666

Friday morning started early. We were at the registration booth at 6 a.m., followed by 30 minutes in the Starbucks line (fitness instructors like their coffee!), and had 30 minutes to inhale breakfast and get caffeinated before our crazy day began!

IMG_4611All class were an hour and a half long and we went to 5 classes throughout the course of the day. Holy moly that’s a lot of working out! Friday alone I changed clothes 3 times. …and ate nearly all the snacks I brought.

Day 1 schedule:

  1. BOSU HIIT Metabolic Challenge
  2. Body Box
  3. Real Food for Real Thought (Nutrition Lecture)
  4. Piloxing
  5. Yoga with a Twist

Friday highlights:

I began my day in BOSU HIIT Metabolic Challenge.

IMG_4602BOSU was taught by Keli Roberts. A recipient of the IDEA International Fitness Instructor of the Year award, she is a Fitness Hall of Fame inductee and has many award-winning DVDs, reality TV shows, and programs she has developed as part of her resume’. See, I told you these instructor’s were legit! Her class was tough! I’m glad I took this class first thing on Friday and not the last thing on Sunday.

Body Box

photo 2

Photo courtesy of Body Box

If step and kickboxing had a baby (and then put that baby on speed) that is Body Box. A choreographed workout combing step, boxing, jump rope, and core training. My friend Caitlyn and I were in this class together. I think we spent more time laughing at each other than we did actually working out. At some point we just stopped and did a little jig on top of our step. It was embarrassing.

Piloxing

I don’t know where people come up with this stuff. Pilates meets kick boxing. Yes, it’s a real thing. The instructor for this class was amazing! A fellow Oklahoman, Jordan Ballard, is a master instructor for Piloxing, and oh my goodness that girl’s hips move in a way I didn’t know was possible. She was so much fun! I just imagined I looked like her the entire time.

Selfie the instructor took during our session. If you grab a magnify glass you MIGHT see me in the back.

Selfie the instructor took during our session. If you grab a magnify glass you MIGHT see me in the back.

Piloxing was a lot more intense than I was expecting. It got my heart rate up and I was sweating buckets by the time we were finished. It was so fun, but I don’t think it’s something I could ever teach – my hips don’t work that way.

We ended our Friday in the hotel restaurant celebrating Caitlyn’s birthday. Coolest 24 year old you’ll ever meet…

photo 1-3I’ll recap the rest of the weekend in a post tomorrow. So… I leave you with a pic of dessert. Because let’s face it, that’s the reason I workout anyway. 😉

IMG_4605To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

3 thoughts on “Next Level does Dallas Mania

  1. Crazy thing…I know Jordan! Her family is from Pauls Valley. Her grandpa had a restaurant and made THE best cherry limeades in the world!! Glad you had fun 🙂

Leave a Reply

