Workout in a Pinch!

You know those days when everything takes 2 hours longer than it should? Well that was my Tuesday. My morning appointment lasted until lunch, my afternoon appointment lasted until 4, which means I worked a grand total of an hour and a half. Employee of the year right here!

I worked through the 5:30 p.m. kickboxing class I usually attend on Tuesday nights to try to get SOME work done. Apparently opening my email doesn’t count as actual work. I arrived home cranky, hungry, and feeling just a pang of guilt for not having worked out that day. Instead of immediately sinking into the couch, I told myself  “Sweat for 20 minutes and then you can binge watch Orange is the New Black until you can’t see straight.” Worked for me!

I put myself through a quick body-weight based, tabata style circuit. It was quick, sweaty, and just what I needed.  Here’s what I did…

Tabata Workout - thefarmersdaughterok.comTo do the circuit, you do each set of exercises for 4 minutes and then move on to the next. You go as hard and as fast as you can for 20 seconds and then rest for 10 seconds. Complete this cycle 8 times for each set. I did exercise A x2, exercise B x2, and repeat once more – that will total 4 minutes. It’s only 20 seconds of work, so push yourself!

 

Screen Shot 2014-08-21 at 4.23.14 PM

Example: Squat (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Squat (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Jumping Lunges (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Jumping Lunges (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Squat (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Squat (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Jumping Lunges (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Jumping Lunges (20sec.)/ Rest (10sec.); Move on to the next pair.

photo 1-2

I feel like I should note – I only watched 2 episodes of OITNB. I’m not a complete glutton.

Hope you all have a fantastic weekend! I’m off to Dallas Mania – taking a class from Jillian Michaels. Say a prayer…

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

Leave a Reply

