Apples to Apples

I have apples coming out of my ears. …and pears, and peppers, and tomatoes. More on those another day. Focusing on apples here.

photo(7)My CSA haul this last week was fantastic! So many apples and pears, I’m eating my way through my basket at an alarming rate.  These little pears have been my favorite to munch on, I can get through one in 2 bites – not kidding.

photo(6)In my basket I had a couple of apples that had seen better days. Since throwing produce away literally hurts my heart, I knew I had to use them fast.

Around 10:30 last night I pulled out my muffin tin and got to choppin’. The Carnivore has been leaving exceptionally early for work this week, so I knew he would appreciate a grab-and-go breakfast. Enter, Apple Muffins.  (Print Me!)

DSC_9458

Here’s what you’ll need:

  • 1/4 cup oats
  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp. packed brown sugar
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon (divided)
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. fine salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil + 2 tsp. (melted)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup natural applesauce
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 1 Golden Delicious apple, peeled, cored and cut into 1/4-inch pieces (I used 2 small CSA apples)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F. Add baking liners or coat a 12-capacity standard muffin pan with cooking spray.

In a small bowl, mix together the oats, 2 tablespoons of the brown sugar, cinnamon, and 2 tsp. melted coconut oil.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the all-purpose and whole wheat flour, baking soda and salt.

In a large bowl, whisk the remaining 3/4 cup sugar and the oil until combined. Add the eggs, one at a time, whisking well after each addition. Whisk in the applesauce, vanilla, and greek yogurt.

Whisk the flour mixture in two batches into the wet ingredients. Whisk just until combined. Gently stir in the apple chunks.

Pour the batter into the prepared muffin pan and sprinkle with the oat mixture. Tap the pan on the counter a few times to remove any air bubbles. Bake until a wooden pick inserted in center of one of the muffins comes out clean, 20 to 25 minutes.

Let cool on a wire rack for 15 minutes.

DSC_9477

Best when eaten on the couch, under a blanket, with a cup of coffee.

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

The Farmer’s Daughter is now on Facebook! Go “like” the page to see all the blog shenanigans.

One thought on “Apples to Apples

Leave a Reply

