Back to Reality.

No more big trees and ocean views – back to mediocre coffee and a lack of the use of “Rad” and “Right on!” I must be back in Oklahoma. I’m scrambling today to play catch-up at work, respond to emails, send in my yoga homework, find my luggage, get a ticket refund… you know, the usual after an awesome vacay.

I’m rolling on fumes today. I flew from Portland to Dallas yesterday, and was scheduled to quickly jump on a flight to OKC. I made it to my gate just in the nick of time, 2 minutes to spare before departure time. I looked like the scene from Home Alone.

A picture is worth 1,000 words.

A picture is worth 1,000 words.

We all got seated and the pilot announced we were going to wait 15 minutes to depart due to weather. 15 minutes passed and they cancelled the flight. The next flight they could guarantee me a spot on was Wednesday at 8:00 a.m.; keep in mind this is Monday evening. Since Norman is only a 3 hour drive from Dallas, I frantically began calling rental car companies… no cars.

Next call – my sweet husband.

The Carnivore is my superhero in disguise. He had already driven 9 hours that day – Albuquerque to Norman – and then jumped in his truck to come rescue me from the DFW airport. Either he really likes me, or he REALLY likes to drive his truck… I’m not sure.

Pic with a beard - he REALLY loves his truck.

Pic with a beard – he REALLY loves his truck.

3 hours later The Carnivore, in his big blue truck, pulls up at Terminal B. I have never been so excited to see him in my entire life. Thankfully I had some donuts in my carry-on from Blue Star Donuts to “pay” him with. A fritter does the trick every time.

Blue Star Donuts - voted #1 donut by USA Today!

Blue Star Donuts – voted #1 donut by USA Today!

The ride home was spent on hold with American Airlines, trying to locate my bag and get a ticket refund. What a mess.

We went to sleep when some people are waking up. When I finally pulled myself out of bed, I downed a cup of coffee and went straight to the OKC airport to locate my bag. I am happy to report I found my things and got the ball rollin’ on my ticket refund.

Portland was pretty amazing. Totally rad (I’m trying to add this to my vocabulary).

I’ll tell you all about my trip very soon, but for now I’m going to take a nap.

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

 

 

 

One thought on “Back to Reality.

Leave a Reply

