America. Lookin’ Good for 238.

With our fruit tray and Prairie Bombs loaded, we made the 3 hour trek to Grand Lake on Friday morning. I’d been looking forward to this weekend for weeks!

We met up with my family in ol’ Chelsea, America, and rode the last 45 minutes together. We arrived at the lake house around 2 p.m. and I couldn’t wait to show Chase around.

Growing up, this is where most of my summer weekends were spent…

The Riff's

The Riff’s cabin.

Whitney and her friend, Christina, headed straight for the dock! No time wasted here.

Twinks!

Twinks!

Since my dad flies helicopters, The Riff’s added a helipad to the top of their dock! When it’s not in use, it makes for a great diving platform and sun deck.

Hangin' with the firecracker!

Hangin’ with the firecracker!

Ok Whitney, this is what you’re going to do. Jump into the lake, grab hold of that tie-down. I need you to put it in your mouth, and I’m going to pretend I’m reeling you in. Whitney “Ok! great idea!”  I can’t believe you put that nasty thing in your mouth… but it made for a fun shot! 😉

Reelin' in a big one!

Reelin’ in a big one!

The dark, twisted sister.

Yin & Yang

Yin & Yang

I made Whitney and Christina go up and down the stairs to the heli-pad probably 5 times before I got this fun shot. They were worn out by the time we were finished!

We celebrated our country with burgers, marinated chicken, Janice’s infamous baked beans, too many desserts, and my current favorite, Prairie Bombs!

Brewed in Oklahoma. Check 'em out!

Brewed in Oklahoma. Check ’em out!

After completely gorging ourselves, the fly-over by the warbirds began!

DSC_9317

DSC_9318Sun starting to go down… almost showtime!

Boats lined up across Duck Creek.

Boats lined up across Duck Creek.

Showtime!

DSC_9352

Lighting up the water!

DSC_9387

I could not have imagined a better way to celebrate our country – surrounded by the people I’m most thankful for. It was the perfect holiday.

Hope your holiday was filled with lots of fun, laughter, and those you care for the most!

To have blog posts sent directly to your email, please click on the “Follow” button under Follow Blog via Email at the bottom of this page.

Leave a Reply

