Using my CSA Goodies

One of the things I love most about being in a CSA is I get exposed to fresh produce I normally wouldn’t purchase – like the lion’s mane mushroom – I never even knew that existed! One of the other somewhat odd (to me) veggies I received this last week was Kohlrabi. I’m really trying to do a better job of writing about how I use my CSA haul, I know if you’re in a CSA around here we are all getting similar things…

Strange, strange looking Kohlrabi.

Strange, strange looking Kohlrabi.

Kohlrabi, also known as a German turnip, is a close relative of the cabbage. When eaten raw, it tastes very similar to a cabbage but has a much more firm texture. I’ve read you can use it in slaws like cabbage, but I decided to use mine in a stir-fry!

Stir-fry’s are one my favorite “clean out the fridge” meals! I make them at least once every two weeks. The veggies I use always differ, but the sauce stays the same. It’s delicious every time.

Teriyaki bowl made with Tamari and Kohlrabi.

Teriyaki bowl made with Tamari and Kohlrabi.

This teriyaki sauce recipe comes from Eat Life Whole. It uses tamari instead of soy sauce. If you’re unsure about tamari check out this article: Tamari vs. Soy Sauce.

(PRINT ME!)

Teriyaki Sauce:
1/3 cup Tamari
1 Tbsp. honey (melted)
2 Tbsp. water
1 Tbsp. grated ginger
3 garlic cloves (minced)
2 greens onions (finely chopped)

Add all ingredients to a jar with lid and mix/shake thoroughly. You can use this as a marinade for meat and vegetables or just add it on top.

This time in my stir-fry I used onion, garlic, kohlrabi, carrots, snow peas, red bell pepper, green bell pepper, and mushrooms. See what I mean, clean out the fridge? I like to sauté my veggies with vegetable broth as opposed to oil. I started with the onion and garlic, then the kohlrabi, and then added in the rest of my veggies.  No science to it. Use as many veggies as you want and sauté them until slightly cooked through. I like to leave some crunch.

When I get my veggies how I like them, I pour on some of the teriyaki sauce. Last, I add in cooked quinoa (about 1/4 cup) to soak up all that yummy sauce and warm it through.

Veggie & Quinoa Teriyaki Bowls

Don’t let those veggies go to waste, throw them in a stir-fry!

 

 

 

 


		
One thought on “Using my CSA Goodies

  1. I just like the valuable info you provide in your articles.
    I will bookmark your weblog and test again here regularly.
    I’m reasonably certain I’ll be told many new stuff right right here!
    Good luck for the next!

Leave a Reply

