Chicken, Chorizo, Mushroom Paella

Remember that funky mushroom I had in my CSA basket last week?! Well, I told you I had big plans for it…

Check out that crazy mushroom. CSA from The Farm and Fiddle.

Check out that crazy mushroom. CSA from The Farm and Fiddle.

This is a Lion’s Mane Mushroom. My farmer, Sam, grows all different types of mushrooms. She’s kind of a mushroom whisperer. When she brought this thing to me I couldn’t contain my excitement, but I will admit, after the big eyes and excitement I asked “what is it?!” I had never heard of this type before, but I do love all things mushroom (all LEGAL things mushroom). Sam told me that when prepared this mushroom is similar to the texture of lobster, and let me tell you, she was spot on!

Mutant Mushroom.

Mutant Mushroom.

I tried to think of popular seafood dishes. I played with the idea of a pasta but knew I didn’t want anything too heavy or cream based. Then genius struck – I would make PAELLA!

Yum.

Yum. Check out those crazy pieces of mushroom!

Paella is a spanish rice dish, commonly made with seafood. I knew an all seafood dish wouldn’t fly at my house, so I went to the internet for some inspiration. I found a very simple chicken chorizo paella recipe from a really cool blog called Eat Live Run, and I added in Lion’s Mane Mushroom at the end. It turned out delicious! It was even better the next day.

PRINT ME!

Paella Recipe

Paella Recipe

Now I realize Lion’s Mane Mushroom isn’t something you usually have laying around your kitchen. You could add regular mushrooms, shrimp, or artichokes (like the original recipe.) Depending on the chorizo you purchase, you might need to add a little extra salt and pepper at the end. I used a mild chorizo and I wish I had used something a little spicier. The Carnivore and I got a few meals out of the recipe, so it’s a winner in my book!

Chicken, Chorizo, and Mushroom Paella.

Chicken, Chorizo, and Mushroom Paella.

Leave a Reply

