Strawberry Fields Forever…and Ever.

I posted a photo to Instagram a few days ago showing all the fun things I got in my CSA basket this week. Well folks, it’s officially strawberry season! (Cue the harps and angels singing.)

My CSA haul for the week - 2 types of lettuce, sugar snap peas, hand churned butter, and STRAWBERRIES!

My CSA haul for the week – 2 types of lettuce, sugar snap peas, hand churned butter, and STRAWBERRIES!

Before I got these savory strawberries from The Farm and the Fiddle, I had already gone through a few pints myself. I picked up some at the Farmer’s Market, got some others at Natural Grocers, and now from my CSA. These were picked that morning and went straight to my mouth that evening.  As a result, I’ve been using strawberries a lot in the kitchen lately.  You know the ones, just ripe enough that you set them to the side when picking which ones to pop into your mouth… those are my favorite to put into dishes.

Strawberries from my CSA basket

Strawberries from my CSA basket

This morning I made Baked Oatmeal with pecans, bananas, and strawberry goodness. This version has no artificial sugars, is gluten free (if you use gluten free oats), and can be made completely vegan by using an egg substitute and agave or brown rice syrup in place of the honey.

Strawberry-Banana Baked Oatmeal

Strawberry-Banana Baked Oatmeal

Here’s how this works:

Spray your 8×8 or 9×9 baking dish with cooking spray or grease it with a little coconut oil. Add banana slices and half of your strawberries to the bottom of the dish, sprinkle with cinnamon, and drizzle with honey. Cover with foil.

Pre-baked fruit

Pre-baked fruit

Bake at 375 for 15 minutes, until the fruit is nice and soft. Add your oat/nut mixture over the fruit.

Oat/nut mixture layered over the baked fruit.

Oat/nut mixture layered over the baked fruit.

Combine milk, egg, vanilla, and honey and pour over the oat/nut mixture.

Pour milk mixture over the oats/nuts.

Pour milk mixture over the oats/nuts.

Sprinkle with your remaining strawberries and pecans.

Sprinkle with remaining strawberries and pecans.

Strawberries and pecans sprinkled over the top.

Bake at 375 for 30 minutes, until the top begins to brown and oats are cooked through.

Strawberry deliciousness.

Strawberry deliciousness.

This version was so good. I finally gave up cutting squares and took my fork straight to the pan.  Don’t judge. It was a lot faster and left me with fewer dishes to clean. #winning.

Print the recipe here!

Strawberry/Banana Baked Oatmeal

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

