Acai. Your new friend with benefits.

Alright…first thing’s first. Guys – I taught my very first hot yoga class at Yoga at Tiffany’s on Monday! I planned a sequence and ran through it for 3 days.  I still didn’t feel ready. When I arrived, I had 12 eager yogi’s ready to do a hot, sweaty flow.  The first 5 minutes I was scared out of my mind, but by the time the class got going I settled down and did my thing.  I had THE BEST time! I’ve been on a yoga teacher high ever since.  Can’t wait for next Monday! And the best part? My regular Barre girls took off work, found babysitters, and all came to my class. It meant the world to me! They are seriously the best, I am so grateful for each of them.

L to R: Kelly, Me, Amber, Ericka.

My barre-holics: Kelly, Me, Amber, Ericka.

Now back to regularly scheduled programming…

I have been on an acai kick lately, I think it’s the increase in temperatures and hint of spring we’ve been enjoying. Either way – I’m rolling with it. Smoothies and salads have sounded really delicious the past few days. Last Saturday, however, the temperature was in the 30’s, and I craved carb-heavy comfort food. I may or may not have got my fix with Cracker Barrel biscuits and apple butter.  It all balances out in the end, right?!

My morning blueberry acai smoothie.

My morning Blueberry Pomegranate Acai smoothie.

Acai is a South American super food. It’s high in antioxidants, protein and even healthy omega fats. An exotic cousin of the blueberry and cranberry, this antioxidant-rich fruit has been heralded for centuries as a healing, immune-stimulating, energy-boosting fruit. But more importantly – it has a delicious tropical berry flavor. 🙂

Photo stolen from Sambazon.com

Photo stolen from Sambazon.com

I am craving acai in a BIG way.  I like to buy Sambazon acai frozen smoothie packets from my local health food store.  They come in original and unsweetened. I use unsweetened in the recipe below.

Chia seeds, unsweetened coconut, and pomegranate kernals, give my smoothie a little texture.

Chia seeds, unsweetened coconut, and pomegranate kernels give my smoothie a delicious texture.

Blueberry Pomegranate Acai Smoothie (Print Me!)

  • 1 cup water/milk of choice
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 1 frozen acai smoothie packet
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 banana
  • 1/4 cup pomegranate kernels
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 – 1 Tbsp. honey
  • Garnish: chia seeds, hemp seeds, unsweetened coconut flakes
  • Optional: 1 scoop vanilla protein powder

*Note: if using the original smoothie packet, decrease the amount of honey or skip it all together.  You may also skip the banana if you’re not a banana fan.

Blend water/milk with spinach (protein powder if using) until smooth.  Add fruit, blend again.  Add cinnamon, vanilla, honey, and mix until combined.  I used all frozen fruit and loved the consistency; however, if needed, add a few ice cubes or additional liquid to reach desired consistency.

Bottoms up!

2 thoughts on “Acai. Your new friend with benefits.

  1. Cassie – Love your ideas. Acai is new to me. I’m off to the health-food store. Also enjoy your cute comments about carnivore. Love ya, Gr.mj

Leave a Reply

