My Ode to the Avocado

Growing up, I thought I hated avocados. I don’t know if it was the green color or the fact that my mom didn’t like them – either way I was convinced I didn’t like them either.  Never tasted one, never wanted to. Man, was I missing out! It wasn’t until high school that someone swindled me into trying one. I’ve been making up for lost time ever since.

DSC_9187

Avocados are a godsend.  Since I’ve drastically cut my intake of dairy in the last year, I’ve found using an avocado on my sandwich or on top of my chili makes me not even miss the cheese. Also, avocados are one of nature’s super foods.

Avocados, which are actually classified as a fruit, are rich in monounsaturated fat that is easily burned for energy. They are also considered one of the healthiest foods on the planet because they contain in excess of 25 essential nutrients, including vitamins A, B, C, E, & K, copper, iron, phosporus, magnesium, and potassium. Avocados also contain fiber, protein, and several beneficial phytochemicals such as beta-sitosterol, glutathione and lutein, which may protect against various diseases and illnesses.

Source: Dr. Joseph Mercola

Let’s talk about how to incorporate more avocado into your diet…  

  • Add sliced avocado to your salad
  • Mash an avocado with a little sea salt and pepper and use it as a spread on sandwiches, burgers, bagels – anywhere you would use mayo or cream cheese
  • Use it as a topping in place of cheese
  • Add it to a smoothie – half an avocado instantly adds creaminess to your favorite concoction
  • Top an omelet
  • Use as a fat replacement in baking. Simply replace the fat called for (such as oil, butter or shortening) with avocado. I usually use avocado for half the fat (to keep the same texture), but you can certainly replace all the fat.
  • Chocolate Avocado Pudding (recipe coming soon!)
  • The world’s greatest dip – guacamole

One of my absolute favorite ways to eat an avocado is Avocado Toast, there are many variations of this swirling around blog world.  You can add different herbs to spice things up, but this is how I make mine every time.

Avocado Toast (Print Me!)

Avocado toast is one of favorite meals/snacks.

Avocado toast is one of my favorite snacks.

Ingredients:

  • 2 slices of toast (I use Ezekial 4:9 bread)
  • One whole avocado
  • Sea salt (to taste)
  • Pepper (to taste)
  • Freshly squeezed lemon juice (to taste)
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)

Mash the avocado in a small bowl with salt, pepper, lemon juice, and red pepper flakes (optional). Spread on your toast.  When making a meal out of it, I like to top mine with an egg for added protein.

I love this combination.

I love this combination.

Tip: Most of you know when buying an avocado you want them to give to slight pressure, just slightly soft.  The problem is they are only in the “perfect” stage for about a day or two before they are overripe.

1380487_10153303867850702_838314651_n

Because of this, it is difficult to buy several avocados and eat on them throughout the week.  To cut back on my grocery store visits, I use this trick to keep my avocados in that “perfect” stage all week long.  If my avocados aren’t perfectly ripe, I leave them on the counter at room temperature until they get to the ripeness I want.  Once they’ve reached perfection, I pop ’em in the fridge.  It will keep them ripe all week long.

Now go make some guacamole!

2 thoughts on “My Ode to the Avocado

  1. Now you’re talking, tall girl! I can eat an avocado like an apple (and sometimes do with just a dash of pepper!

    xo Short Woman

    ________________________________

Leave a Reply

