Southwest Quinoa

I’m back! Yoga teacher training was A-MAZING! Thank you so much for all the kind words and support. I’ll give a full recap once I process the last 5 days. In the meantime, how about a recipe?

I promised this recipe in my previous quinoa post; I’m sorry it has taken me so long to post it. This Southwest Quinoa is easily one my favorite go-to lunch bowls.  It’s so simple, and even better, I can make a few meals out of one preparation! It’s also great as a side dish to dinner or added to the filling for quesadillas.

DSC_9197

Southwest Quinoa (Print me!)

  • 1 cup quinoa
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1 can black beans (rinsed and drained)
  • 1 can corn (rinsed and drained)
  • 1 can Rotel
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. paprika
  • 1/2 tsp. kosher salt
  • Garnish: cilantro, chopped avocado, salsa, lime, cheese or sour-cream (if you’d like).

Use the same basic quinoa cooking method as in this post.

Rinse your quinoa for at least two minutes in a fine mesh strainer.  Give it a good shake releasing the excess water.  Add quinoa to your saucepan on medium high heat, toast for 1-2 minutes until water begins to evaporate.

Add 1 cup vegetable broth, 1 can black beans, 1 can corn, 1 can Rotel, and seasonings.  Stir your mixture until everything is evenly distributed.  When mixture comes to a rolling boil, cover and reduce heat to lowest setting.  Let simmer for 15 minutes, and then remove your quinoa from heat and let sit for another 5 minutes (covered).  Fluff with a fork and serve.

I like to eat mine over a bed of greens, with avocado, cilantro, a squeeze of lime and salsa – with some blue corn tortilla chips for scooping, of course.

2 thoughts on “Southwest Quinoa

  1. Does it travel well? I’m looking for things that can travel with to BR. I love peanut butter but 5-6 days of peanut butter & cracker/sandwiches/apples etc is getting gross 🙂 and since I don’t always have access to a microwave it has to be something along these lines but some things don’t travel well

    • Haha! Oh man, I wish I could get tired of peanut butter. Unfortunately, that’s never happened to me.
      This travels very well! I prefer to eat it warm because it makes the bed of greens all wilted and delicious, but I’ve been known to eat it straight from the fridge. 🙂 I would just say to try to a batch when you are home for a few days, and see what you think of it cold. As far as ease, it’s my favorite to take to the office.

Leave a Reply

