Healthy, Easy (Vegan) Superbowl Dip

I love healthy, easy appetizers.  One skillet, a knife, and a cutting board.  You’re in and out of the kitchen in less than 20 minutes.

Queso used to be me all time favorite party food, but somewhere in my mid-twenties I became sensitive to dairy – bummer! Don’t get me wrong, if I NEED ice-cream, I eat it;  I just know I’m not going to feel very good later.

So on my quest to find a new healthy appetizer, I stumbled across this recipe by Oh She Glows, and added a little twist of my own.  Depending on the salsa you use, you can make this as hot or mild as you like.

Black Bean Chili Dip:

DSC_9169

Yield: 2.5 cups

Printer friendly version here.

Ingredients:

  • 1.5 cups chopped sweet onion
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
  • 1.5 cups cooked black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 3/4 cup salsa
  • 1 cup corn kernels (fresh, frozen, canned, whatevs) If using canned, rinse and drain.
  • 2 tsp chili powder (or to taste)
  • 1 tsp ground cumin (or to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp paprika (or to taste)
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt (or to taste)
  • for garnish: chopped avocado, cilantro, cheese, squeeze of lime

1. In a large skillet over medium heat, add a bit of oil and sauté the chopped onion and garlic for about 5-7 minutes. Meanwhile, remove the seeds from a jalapeno and chop finely. Add in the chopped jalapeno and sauté for another few minutes.

2. Add in the drained and rinsed black beans, salsa, and corn. Stir well and cook for a few minutes. Now add the chili powder, cumin, paprika, and salt to taste. Cook on low until heated through and serve warm with corn chips. Garnish with chopped avocado, or fresh cilantro.

DSC_9161

When it comes to corn chips, or really most things that come packaged – my philosophy is the fewer ingredients the better.  These are my go-to chips from Target.

Ingredients: Organic Blue Corn,

Ingredients: Organic blue corn, organic sunflower oil, organic flax seed, sea salt, lime.

Leftovers: If you have any.  Drop a few spoonfuls of this warm dip on a corn tortilla, top with avocado, lime, and cilantro.  Voila! Lunch.

Leave a Reply

