Monkeying Around the Kitchen

As I mentioned in my Chelsea, America post, I made these monkey bread muffins for a herd of hungry family members last weekend.  I don’t know about you, but when I get hungry I get CRANKY, and I just can’t wait 45 minutes for a bundt pan full of monkey bread to come out of the oven.  This version bakes in less than 20 minutes.

I first made monkey bread when I was in middle school with my grandma.  Back then I only used white sugar and cinnamon; my recipe has evolved a little bit since then.  Because of its simplicity, this dish is great for any changes or substitutions you want to make.  Occasionally I throw maple syrup into the mix, nuts, raisins – the sky’s the limit! The recipe below has come to be my favorite:

DSC_9186

Printer friendly version here.

Serves 6 (ish)

Ingredients:

  • 2 cans biscuits (I use the big Pillsbury Grands – 8 to a can)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 3/4 brown sugar
  • 1 Tbsp. + 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup unsalted butter (1 1/2 sticks) melted
  • 2 tsp. vanilla
  • Pecans (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350. Mix together your sugars and cinnamon in a large Ziploc bag.

Cut each biscuit into quarters.

Biscuit quarters.

Biscuit quarters.

Melt your butter. Add 2 tsp. vanilla to your butter bowl, and give it a good stir.

Monkey makin' work station.

Monkey makin’ work station.

Drop each biscuit quarter into the melted butter, and then into your Ziploc bag.  I do about 8 quarters at a time. Now shake it! Place the quarters into your muffin pan, about 3-4 per muffin (I used 4).  Option: sprinkle pecans in between your pieces. Drizzle a little leftover butter over each muffin.

Tip: Sometimes the ooey-gooey cinnamon sugar goodness will bake its way out of your pan.  You can place a baking sheet on the rack directly below your muffin pan, but depending on your oven, it might increase your bake time.

Getting ready for the oven.

Getting ready for the oven.

Bake for 15-19 minutes until the muffins have a nice crust on the outside, but are soft in the middle.

Perfect little muffin.

Perfect little muffin.

DSC_9187

The quarters will just fall apart into bite sized pieces.

This might not be a bowl of fresh greens, but a little splurge every now and then is good for the soul!

Leave a Reply

