Cassie’s Hot Beets.

This title was inspired by a mix CD that my cousin, Sydney, left in my car when she was probably 10 or 11.  It read “Sydney’s Hot Beats” in the best little kid hand writing you can imagine. My husband started a joke about my “Hot Beets” while I was roasting them one Sunday and it stuck.

Growing up, I was convinced beets came from a can.  They would make their way around the table at Thanksgiving, and year after year I would turn my nose up at them.  It wasn’t until I found fresh beets, that I realized “I DO like, no, LOVE beets!” You know you have that  list of things you must get from the grocery store week after week, well this red root is on my short list! Drizzled with a little aged balsamic… mmm.

DSC_9327

2 variations shown here – your common red beet and a golden beet.

Click here to get the skinny on beets.

I like to eat them raw and shredded, roasted mixed in with quinoa, or on top of a salad. I usually roast a few beets on Sunday, and eat on them the rest of the week. Who am I kidding? They don’t last past Monday.

A few beet tips:

  • You get a two-fer if you purchase them with the leafy green tops!  I throw the tops in green smoothies, eat them in salads, or give ’em a quick sauté.
  • If you’re new to beets, a word to the wise – put a note on the back of your bathroom door that reads “I ate beets yesterday.”  Just do it.  You’ll thank me later.

Here is my favorite Balsamic Beet Salad inspired by the Barefoot Contessa.

DSC_9178

Beets, walnuts, and goat cheese could quite possibly be my most favorite flavor combination.

Serves 2

  • 3 medium-size beets, tops removed and scrubbed
  • 1/4 cup good quality balsamic vinegar
  • 2 Tbsp. good olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • Kosher salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • Favorite Salad Mix – I use half spring/half baby spinach, or sweet baby lettuces
  • 1/4 cup walnut pieces
  • 2 ounces crumbled goat cheese (feta is a good substitute)

Directions
Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

Place the washed beets (with tops removed) in a baking dish covered in aluminum foil.  Drizzle a little olive oil over each beet, and then cover the entire dish with foil.

Washed and Scrubbed.  Drizzle away!

Washed and scrubbed. Drizzle away!

Roast your covered beets for 50 minutes to 1 hour, depending on their size, until a fork will pierce the center easily. Set the “Hot Beets” aside for 10 minutes or so, until cool enough to handle.

Meanwhile, make the dressing: Whisk together the vinegar, olive oil, mustard, 1/4 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper and set aside.

You can whisk your dressing, or put it in a Mason Jar and give it a good shake!

You can whisk your dressing, or put it in a mason jar and give it a good shake!

Peel the beets with a small, sharp knife. You might want to use a disposable glove here; you’ll end up with red fingers. While the beets are still warm, cut each one in half and then each half into 4-6 wedges and place them in a mixing bowl. As you’re cutting the beets, toss them with a splash of aged balsamic vinegar or some of the vinaigrette (warm beets absorb more vinaigrette).  Add a pinch of salt and pepper to your warm beets.

Place your greens in a separate serving bowl. Add the beets, walnuts, and goat cheese on top. Drizzle with vinaigrette.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Did anyone else's mom/grandma have a set of this vintage pyrex?  The are my go-to lunch bowl.

Did anyone else’s mom/grandma have a set of this vintage pyrex? They are my go-to lunch bowl.

I’m not going to “beet around the bush,” this salad is delicious! I eat to the “beet of my own drum.” This salad makes my “heart skip a beet.” Ok, I’m done.

Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Cassie’s Hot Beets.

  1. Oh, Miss DeROZIER!  You have potential of becoming a true country girl!  BEETS……Sustenance for the gods!  I LOVE BEETS, But I’ve always been a country girl believing in the basics…and simple!(food not mind)

    xoxoxo Mrs. MacSpadden

    ________________________________

  2. Cassie I may just try this recipe. I love beets but the kind that come in a jar at the grocery store. But this may sway me to change my mind!

Leave a Reply

